My 1st Book Signing!

Had my very 1st book signing yesterday at Prospero’s! I only sold 4 books, but what a learning experience!

I got a lot of practice talking about & pitching the book. Unfortunately, it was after the guy from 88.5 stuck a microphone with a tape recorder in my face. Asking the vampire novelist about the upcoming civil war festivities in town was probably not the best idea for a good sound byte, but there was nothing else going on that early in the afternoon.

Sadly, I can’t think that fast on my feet. Even when I’m sitting down. =)  Pretty sure that my unrehearsed babble is not going to make it on the air (I didn’t even remember to mention the NAME of my book! *sigh*), but it reinforced the need for a pre-prepared talking points.

Hubby stayed with me the whole time, so during the many lulls he asked me lots of questions. Hopefully the next time I get interviewed with no notice I won’t sound like a complete idiot! Although to be fair to myself, it could have been much worse. At least I remembered to mention my website this time.

I now have a much better idea of what to do & to expect for future signings. Going to try & get to a lot of conventions this year, I think I’d be a lot more successful in that sort of venue.

Me - Kate Nevermore - in front of Prospero's Books

3 Comments

Filed under science fiction, vampires

3 responses to “My 1st Book Signing!

  1. aquamarineswan

    I’m thankful for writers like you who post their journey along the interesting path to book publishing success. The creating part is fun, but promoting yourself must seem like a sacrifice at times. Vampire subjects catch my eye, I hope to return and read more of your progress. Good Luck Kate

    • Thanks! Self-promotion is at times excruciating, but writing about it makes it easier. Please check out the book on Amazon, and if you like it please drop a review! I can never get enough reviews… =)

Leave a Reply

